Monday, April 30, 2018

PPCRV prepares volunteers for BSKE

By Leilanie G. Adriano
Staff reporter

LAOAG CITY—The Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting is calling on volunteers to assist voters, particularly millennials who are voting for the first time in the synchronized Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections (BSKE).

As a duly accredited arm of the Commission on Elections (Comelec), PPCRV-Ilocos Norte’s Francisco Bitagon said Monday have already started the conduct of orientation to at least 75 volunteers who will serve as watchers in the upcoming elections.

In support for “clean, honest, accurate, meaningful and peaceful elections”, Mr. Bitagon appealed to the Comelec and all concerned government authorities to respect PPCRV watchers.

But since the May 14 elections will be conducted manually, Mr. Bitagon said the PPCRV will focus on assisting millennials this time.

To do so, Mr. Bitagon reiterated that election officials should equally respect assigned PPCRV watchers in the different precincts as the other watchers of candidates.

“We are your collaborators, we are your partners in electoral rights so you must give chance to our volunteers. They are there to watch. Treat them as your collaborators,” said Mr. Bitagon citing that during the previous elections, some PPCRV watchers were allegedly ignored.

Meanwhile, the PPCRV also reiterated the provision of priority lanes for persons with disabilities (PWDs), senior citizens and pregnant women as they observed that in the past, some precincts in the province had no special lanes for them.

“Please put priority lanes for PWDs, seniors and pregnant women. It is their right. Wait till you become a senior,” Mr. Bitagon stressed.

In Ilocos Norte, the Comelec reported there will be 368 voting centers covering 559 Barangays.

Laoag mayor wins 3rd straight best mayor award

By Dominic B. dela Cruz
Staff reporter

Laoag City—For the third consecutive time, the SuperBrand Marketing International Incorporated (SMMI) awarded Laoag mayor Chevylle V. Fariñas with the Most Outstanding Mayor Award for CY 2018.

Mrs. Fariñas is among the 23 mayors nationwide SMMI recognized.

She thanked the awarding body for recognizing the efforts made by the officialdom of Laoag and its people.

The award aims “to promote the work of mayors for their collective effort toward nation-building and as a testament of one’s achievements”.

It is also an alternative in the identification of specific projects through billboards and other media.

The award-giving body recognized the two-term lady mayor as “an exemplary leader whose impressive academic track record laid the foundation of a productive stint as the first lady mayor of Laoag, a multi-awarded local government unit. Her impressive accomplishments are the results of her rich learning experiences and excellent professional journey”.

Prior to her present position, she was the city’s Brgy. 16 chairperson; later elected as Laoag’s Liga ng mga Barangay president. With her vibrant personality, she became the chairperson of the Council for Women among other remarkable positions that prepared her to become an effective government executive.

Mrs. Fariñas advocacy revolves around n her principles of “Saluadak” an Iluko term which means to protect and pertains to her endeavors to mitigate untoward effects of negligence and indifference to all public interests to further the common good of every Laoagueño.

Her flagship program “Walang Iwanan Agserbi 24/7”is her unique way of bringing the city government closer to the people. This ensures access to the services of the city that address the needs of the barangay folks like infrastructure; health services; peace, order and public safety; agricultural development; skills and livelihood training; pro-poor programs; scholarships and support to education; youth empowerment; environmental protection; programs for child-friendly schools and communities; OFW concerns; employment opportunity promotions; and special services for the differently-abled persons.

Her programs and projects for environment and bio-diversity, agriculture, business and industry, and other innovations paved the way for the city’s conferment of the Seal of Good Local Governance; adjudged as Philippine’s Top 10 in government efficiency; Hall of Famer in the National Corn Quality Award; regional awardees for Outstanding CAFC, Outstanding Fisherfolks & Outstanding Small Animal Raiser; Hall of Famer for Most Business-Friendly Local Government Unit-city category; Best Infrastructure and the Next Top Wave City in Information Technology by the DOST.

Mrs. Fariñas also envisions a healthy community by strengthening the Laoag City General Hospital in its service to the people. The city also intensified its anti-rabies campaign that made Laoag a “rabies-free city and, garnered the championship in 2013 the search for Local CHAMP (Catalytic Action for HIV and Aids Mitigation Program).

For its environment and bio-diversity projects, the city sustained its status as the cleanest, safest and greenest city in 2013 and 2014. It ensures the full and strict implementation of the Oplan Dalus Program of the city.

Believing in the role of the youth for a better future, the National Council for the Welfare of Children also recognized the city through its 2014 Seal of Child-Friendly Local Governance Award.      

Recognizing her quality management strategies resulting to her outstanding achievements, European Society for Quality Research conferred to Mrs. Fariñas the Best Quality Leadership Award by the in 2014; Golden Globe Annual Award granted her the Filipino Achiever in 2015; and SMII acknowledged her Most Outstanding Mayor for 2016 and 2017.  

Harry Tambuatco, president and CEO, and Karl Mclean, chair of SuperBrand Marketing International, handed over the prestigious plaque and coffee table book to city administrator Jamie Farinas at the awarding rites on March 15, 2018 at City Club Makati.

The SMMI is the only international award giving body in the country and pays tribute to the strongest brands in the country.

Record shows that SMMI is currently promoting around 14,000 brands in 88 countries worldwide.

Badoc school celebrates 87th foundation day

Staff reporter

Badoc, Ilocos Norte—Juan Luna Memorial Academy recently celebrated its 87th Foundation Day with Atty. Ameurfina A. Respicio, consultant on Women of the Provincial Government of Ilocos Norte, as crowning guest and speaker.

The late former Ilocos Norte 2nd district Congressman Roman Campos founded the educational institution. The late lawmaker also served as judge of the Court of First Instance in La Union and Ilocos Sur. It was in 1928 when he established a secondary school in Badoc which he named Saranay High School so more elementary school graduates from Badoc could finish secondary education. At that time, high school students then had to travel to Laoag to study at the Ilocos Norte High School. In 1931, officials renamed the school to Juan Luna Memorial Academy.

Ms. Respicio extolled the noble intention of the founder to help young girls and boys in Badoc as well as his genuine love and concern for his town mates.

“A school is best known for the quality of its graduates.  The Juan Luna Memorial Academy has produced countless successful men and women in different fields of endeavor. The school population is more than 500 students who are not only from Badoc but from nearby municipalities”, she said.

The school director is Mr. Nicetos Benedicto F. Campos and Mrs. Demetria Mercado as school principal.

Meanwhile, the crowning of Francis John Rodriguez and Jasmine Gamponia as king and queen, respectively, coincided with the event.