Monday, October 1, 2018

CVF guns for final term as Laoag City mayor

Laoag Mayor Chevylle V. Farinas and Federation of the Philippines/AFP Retirees Association LC/IN Chapter President Jovito C. Ramos offer a wreath to Dr. Jose Rizal during National Heroes Day on August 27 held at the city hall. the Veterans Federation of the Philippines and the AFP Retirees & Legal Beneficiaries Association Inc attended the commemoration. (Doms dela Cruz)

By Dominic B. dela Cruz
Staff reporter

Laoag City—Laoag Mayor Chevylle V. Fariñas confirmed that she will run for her third and final term in next year’s general elections.

In an interview, Mrs. Fariñas said she and her political group are now finalizing their full line up for the May 13, 2019 elections.

With the sudden death of former Laoag Vice Mayor Michael V. Fariñas, who was only on his second term, his son, current Laoag government administrator John Michael V. Fariñas, reportedly will run for the city’s second highest post.

Mrs. Fariñas did not deny the issue, neither did she confirm it.

Incumbent Laoag Vice Mayor Franklin Dante A. Respicio, meanwhile, will reportedly run for his third and final term as councilor. He was on his third term as councilor but due to his succession to the vice mayoralty post, the law erased his third term as councilor; hence he can still run for another term.

Third term Laoag councilor Shirley O. Sin’s son current Laoag federated Parents-Teachers Association president Jardin O. Sin is also rumored to take over the seat his mother will vacate.

Laoag councilor Dr. Edison Siazon is also rumored to be replaced by his wife former Laoag councilor Sonia B. Siazon.

Meanwhile, incumbent Laoag councilors Handy Lao, Ferdinand Domingo, Edison Bonoan, Roger John Fariñas, and Roque Benjamin Ablan who are all with the Nacionalista Party are expected to run for reelection.

Laoag councilor Portia Pamela Salenda, however, is believed to be returning to her Sangguniang Panlalawigan seat.

Another incumbent Laoag councilor, Justine Clarence Chua will run for reelection but will remain independent.

No comments:

Post a Comment