Monday, February 29, 2016

Int’l Ilocano athletes lead Sirib Youth Awardees for 2016

By Jennifer T. Pambid

Batac CITY—ASEAN chess champion Mhage Sebastian and SEA Games Decathlon silver medalist Jesson Cid led the outstanding Ilocano youth awardees in the third Sirib Youth Awards held February 13, 2016.

Organized by the Ilocos Norte Youth Office (INYO), the event was held at the Imelda Cultural Center in Batac City and is part of Ilocos Norte’s 198th Foundation Anniversary.

INYO Officer-in-charge June Arvin C. Gudoy said, “The Sirib Youth Awards aims to recognize young Ilocanos who brought prestige to the province through their participation in various national and international competitions.”

Ms. Sebastian and Mr. Cid, together with International Regatta novice category second placer Kyle Lavarias, received the Teofilo Yldefonso Award for demonstrating excellence in the field of sports.

Teofilo Yldefonso, known as the ‘Ilocano Shark,’ is considered as the greatest swimmer of the Philippines and is the first and only Filipino Olympic multiple medalist.

Other awards are named after the great Ilocano heroes including Anastacia Giron Tupas, a native of Laoag City who is the Mother of Philippine Nursing; Juan Luna, a native of Badoc who is the first global Filipino painter; and Josefa Llanes Escoda, a native of Dingras who founded the Girls Scout of the Philippines.

Meanwhile, international group awardees were also honored including the Coro San Nicoleño for winning the fourth Vietnam International Choir Competition in the male choir category.
Danah Mae Arzadon

Special awards were also given to board exam topnotchers including Danah Mae Arzadon (Top 6 of Nursing Licensure Exam on November 2015), Ashley Jessumine Pajas (Top 10 of Registered Master Electrician Licensure Exam on September 2015) and Lucky Meljay Mercado (Top 8 of Architect Licensure Exam on June 2015).

Over 100 youth received cash incentives, certificates of recognition, medals and trophies from the provincial government. Coaches and advisers of winning participants were also given recognition.

Keen in upholding Ilocano greatness among the youth, Ilocos Norte Governor Maria Imelda “Imee” R. Marcos believes that the Sirib Youth Awards will motivate and inspire more Ilocano youth to harness their potentials towards the province’s fast-track development and transformation.

Carlo Magno Vistro
She said that as Ilocos Norte gears up for its bicentennial anniversary on 2018, it is important to highlight the involvement of the Ilocano youth in achieving sustainable development.

“This is for the Ilocano youth because they are the ones who really have the potential to lead and bring back the greatness of our province,” said Ms. Marcos during her speech at the launching of Ilocos Norte’s bicentennial movement on 2012.


Jesson Cid-001-20150716-IM3P7234 & Jesson Cid-002-20150716-IM3P7237
Decathlete Jesson Cid (in black) pay a courtesy call to Governor Imee R. Marcos at the Capitol, joined by the staff of the Ilocos Norte Youth Office on July 16, 2015.

Mhage Sebastian-20150619-IM3P0576

Sebastian with Gov. Marcos at the Ilocos Norte Capitol on June 19, 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment