Tuesday, October 29, 2013

SN is PH’s most business-friendly LGU anew

MOST BIZ-FRIENDLY LGU AGAIN. San Nicolas Mayor Melanie Grace Valdez and Vice Mayor Alfredo P. Valdez Jr. receive a plaque and certification from PCCI officials for being the Most Business Friendly-LGU municipal level at the Manila Hotel on October 24, 2013. This is the second most business-friendly award for the first class municipality. (Doms dela Cruz)
By Dominic B. dela Cruz
Staff Reporter

MANILA—Proving that its earlier recognition as the most business friendly municipality in the country was no fluke, the San Nicolas municipal government again stamped its class as it was again adjudged as the most business friendly local government unit for 2013.

The award was given to San Nicolas official during the 39th Philippine Business Conference and Expo held October 24, 2013 at the Manila Hotel. The award is the second for the local government unit under the Municipal Category Level I.

San Nicolas Mayor Melanie Grace Valdez and Vice Mayor Alfredo P. Valdez Jr. personally received the plaque and a certification for the free construction of a school building.

The mayor thanked all the people behind the award for their trust and confidence and for investors who continue to pour investment to the municipality.

She also emphasized that this award is still an accomplishment of the past administration of the former mayor, now the vice mayor.

She explained that San Nicolas’ main investment thrust has been to streamline procedures in opening a business in line with the Anti-Red Tape Act. She added that her programs for employment has been boosted with the arrival of various investors putting up their business in the municipality.

The Most Business Friendly Local Government Unit (LGU) Awards is the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s (PCCI) initiative to complement the efforts of the government to streamline procedures in compliance with the Anti-Red Tape Act or RA 9485.

The award also seeks to recognize and promote models of governance of municipalities, cities and provinces that have demonstrated outstanding efforts in instituting good governance reforms to promote trade and investment; ensure accountability; transparency and efficiency; and further competitiveness of LGU’s.

The LGU Award adopts the slogan “ What’s Good for the Citizenry is Good for Business” where this represents a framework for achieving continuous improvement of LGU services to their areas benefiting both the business community and citizenry.

The municipality of San Nicolas won over the municipality of Roxas in Isabela under the municipality category Level I while the municipality of Guimbal in Iloilo beat San Felipe in Zambales under the Level II category.

Mandaluyong City won against the cities of Iloilo and Olongapo under the City Category Level I; the city of Puerto Princesa got the better of Calamba and Cabanatuan under the Level II Category; and the cities of Laoag and Calapan toed for the top position over Masbate and Dipolog under Level III city category.

The Province of Tarlac took top honors followed Isabela, Camarines Sur, Bulacan and La Union under the Province Category.

The awarding ceremony also included the testimonial for the 38th PBC chairman Mr. Antonio Lopa; Media Scholarship Award; Alfredo M. Yao Intellectual Property Awards; Excellence in Ecology and Economy Awards and the Most Outstanding Chamber Award           

Records show that this national award for San Nicolas is already its fourth national award in just three months this year.

Earlier, San Nicolas was recognized in the 15th National Sandugo for Outstanding Local Government Executives (LGEs) of former Mayor and now Vice Mayor Alfredo P. Valdez Jr. at the Heritage Hotel, Pasay City on September 25, 2013; San Nicolas was also adjudged as one of the 2013 National Kabalikat Awardee municipal level by TESDA; and Mr. Emerson B. Tabios of Barangay 22, San Guillermo in this municipality was also adjudged as the Regional and National Outstanding Young Farmer during the Gawad Saka Search for Outstanding Agricultural Achievers for the year 2012-2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment