Tuesday, November 18, 2014

LC fails in biz-friendly award hall of fame bid

By Dominic B. dela Cruz
Staff reporter

Laoag City—After topping the National Most Business-Friendly City (Category Level 3) in the last two years, Laoag City failed in its third attempt this year. As a result, the city was not elevated to the awards’ hall of fame.

Laoag Mayor Chevylle V. Fariñas is set to inquire on the results this year from the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI).

Calapan City in Mindoro, which tied with Laoag for the top spot last year, won and made it to the awards’ hall of fame.

Ms. Fariñas said the city has the right to inquire about the reason Laoag did not get an award this year. She said this would also make them realize their lapses so they could improve on this.

She stressed that she is open to all comments and suggestions for improvement. She added that they were also not able to concentrate on the contest this year as they were also busy with Agserbi 24/7, the city governments retooled community outreach program, as well as other activities.

Ms. Fariñas said she did her best during the presentation and answered all the queries from the evaluation panel.

She disclosed that she is not blaming anybody for this failure but only wants to know where the city failed.

She stated that the city government is doing its best to become one of the most business-friendly local government unit in the country,

She then divulged that the biggest mall operator in the country will soon construct its own mall in the city which would boost employment and local revenues.

She also expressed hopes that Laoag would still be able to join the awards’ hall of fame as they only need to win one more time to complete the three wins in five years rule.

Meanwhile, San Nicolas mayor Melanie Grace P. Valdez and vice mayor Alfredo “Boying” Valdez Jr. were both proud of San Nicolas’ elevation to the hall of fame for the municipal level 1 category.

San Nicolas was elevated to the hall of fame for winning for the third straight year. The awarding was held Oct. 24 at the Manila Hotel.

No comments:

Post a Comment